Skip to content

Hooked on Arctic Archaeology

July 29, 2014

Travel to Alaska and see a unique archaeological project – an invitation not to be missed?

I anticipated being an interested onlooker, but this short stay has been anything but that. Rick, Edouard, James, Ana, and Keith (plus Cheryl our wonderful chef de cuisine) have welcomed and encouraged me and I’ve had a great time on site as part of the excavation team.

The site is remarkable and I wish I was staying for a few more weeks. I think I got off lightly though – the weather has been positively balmy in comparison to previous years (so I’ve been told) and as for those famous bugs, I just suffered only one hour of the critters where the back of my trousers changed from a cream colour to a darker shade of midge!

Jackie's Bugs

Viva Quinhagak  Nunalleq and thanks again. I’ll be following the blog closely and drooling electronically at those impending “finds of the day”.

Jackie

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

