Skip to content

The tie that binds us

August 19, 2014

The thing I love most about archaeology is its ability to make me feel a connection to other people, across time and space. No matter how old the site has been or where in the world I’ve been working, I’ve always found something I could relate to, like a tool that fits my hand perfectly or a site in exactly the place I would have picked if I were to choose a location to camp.

The excavation at Nunalleq has been no different. Although the majority of the artifacts highlighted on the blog leave me feeling only awestruck as they are so finely made, there is at least one artifact type that really speaks to me. The knots! The preservation at the site is so spectacular that we are recovering knotted ropes that haven’t been seen in more than 500 years.

This is my favourite due to its simplicity

photo (1)Teresa

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

